Can you terminate probation early? Former DA explains
Age of Consent is 16 in Michigan, what exactly does that mean?
The "age of majority" -- the age at which an individual is legally considered an adult -- is 18 in most states, including Michigan. For those younger than 18, legal age laws dictate certain rights and responsibilities of minors. For instance, Michigan's legal age laws state that a year-old may file a lawsuit, while a child 16 or. General rule: The law generally does not treat the provision of any confidential health care to minors as a crime, except for abortions in some states. However Laws related to minors in Michigan (i) Provide instruction on healthy dating relationships and on how to set limits and recognize a dangerous environment. 26 Apr The new law just recognizes certain circumstances where people who are within four years of each other in a consensual, oftentimes, dating relationship. Michigan Law Bottom Line: An year-old having sex with a 14 year old would not go on the sex offender list, but a year-old would. The law IS NOT.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. Results 1 to 7 of 7.
Dating a Minor in Michigan.
Dating a Minor in Michigan
My parents are doing everything they can to keep us apart because the feel that he is too old. So what I would like to know is if our relationship is illegall by any circumstance??? Just to cover all the bases: So, as far as Michigan is concerned, with the age of consent being 16 and your boyfriend being less than 5 years older than you, legally he cannot be punished for your relationship.
They CAN file a restraining order against him. This means that even if you are the one who initiates contact, charges can be filed against him for breaking the restraining order.
Criminal sexual conduct in the third degree involves sexual penetration intercourse, oral or anal sex, or digital penetration, however slight with:. If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. Please note that some of our forums also serve as mirrors to Usenet newsgroups. I don't believe what I write, and neither should you. Please check the dates before you post.
Probably not what you wanted to hear. Last edited by Ohio "Step" Mom; at Don't listen to a word I say because ya know I've gotta be crazy to be a Brown's fan.
You're wrong on the restraining order. Ok, you're wrong with regards to the restraining order. In any case, it would not prevent them from contacting the person who the order was issued against, and would become null and void once they did. Originally Posted by Ohio "Step" Mom. This thread is 6 years old and the OP is now a legal adult by all possible standards.
Please check the dates before you post.
What Is The Legal Age Of Consent In Michigan?
And no, the 16 year old does not have to agree before a parent can get Dating A Minor Law In Michigan RO.
The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply. It doesn't matter if the post is 20 years old, the information is wrong.
As I stated, you can get one for yourself, your property, you may even ask the judge for one to prevent him from contacting your daughter, but even if he grants it--without your more info consent--there is nothing the law can do when she contacts him. When I stated that you'd need your childs consent, what I meant was that if you wanted the RO to prevent him from coming anyone near her, then she would have to agree it to it for it to work.
For example, a year-old who engages in consensual petting with a year-old could not be prosecuted for a crime. In addition, sexual relations between teachers and students of any age is illegal. The emancipation of a minor refers to a legal process by which a minor can become an adult in the eyes of the law. As I stated, you can get one for yourself, your property, you may even ask the judge for one to prevent him from contacting your daughter, but even if he grants it--without your daughter's consent--there is nothing the law can do when she contacts him. You may have to register before you can post:
I've been through it, so the information you're providing that a parent can just go down to the court, get and RO to prevent the guy from ever contacting their daughter again incorrect based on Michigan law, so instead of lecturing me on dates, you should moderate your post to reflect correct information.
Originally Posted by cbg. I have read the rules in Michigan and can find nothing in the statutes that requires the permission of the minor. Without such a statute, the information provided is not incorrect. The fact that law enforcement in your community did not take the action you would have wanted does not make the information inaccurate for the entirety of the state. All of which is source to the fact that the rules of the site request that you not post to dead threads unless you are the original poster coming back with an update.
I doubt the OP is going to return anytime soon, so I'm locking it.
I don't believe what I write, and neither should you. Information furnished to you is for debate purposes only, be sure to verify with your own research.
Michigan Legal Ages Laws
Keep in mind that the information provided may not be worth any more than either a politician's promise or what you paid for it nothing. I also may not have been either sane or sober when I wrote it down.
Don't worry, be happy. All times are GMT The time now is The information contained on LaborLawTalk. Please consult a legal expert or seek the services of an attorney in your area for more accuracy on your specific situation. Please note that some of our forums also serve as mirrors to Usenet newsgroups. Many posts you see on our forums are made by newsgroup users who may not be members of LaborLawTalk.